The 80-20 Principle Revisited

It’s been a great few days. My theory works. The shock and awe idea that I originally theorized from a previous blog post actually works. I knew this day would come; it was only a matter of time. I recently received an offer to work as an intern for Offerpop, a New York City based start-up. Offerpop is a software-as-a-service company that provides marketers and brand managers an easy to use platform to create campaigns on Facebook and Twitter. In addition to that, I also received a temp offer to work for a proxy firm    in Midtown Manhattan. Things have finally been falling into place and I’m really glad that my hard work is starting to pay off. Allow me to tell my story. 

Shock and Awe

The first step for me, was to research a bunch of web 2.0 media companies in NYC. There’s a lot of them here in NYC. New York really has fast growing tech talent pool and I’m sure this is just the beginning. After all, NYC is a hub for finance, fashion, and media. After doing my research and looking up companies that I feel like I was going to be a good fit for, I looked up their addresses. Offerpop is one of those companies. Using my Shock and Awe theory, I decided to take things to differently. I talked about how I created a cover letter using Power Point, and that worked like magic. This time, I decided to literally walk up to the office of the start-up of my choosing and speak to whoever is in charge. At the very least, my goal is just to drop off my resumé. But of course, I would at least like to speak to people who are in charge and introduce myself as a qualified and sharp candidate.

The very first office that I walked into was Offerpop. I came up to the office manager, Nicole, and handed my resumé. I told her that I’m really interested in the company and would like to be considered for the biz dev position. 10 minutes after introducing myself, I was having a conversation with the head recruiter and was arranging a meeting for an interview. Unfortunately, the biz dev position was not open anymore but luckily, they still had an internship position open. Internships are great feeders into the position that you desire. It’s very simple really, do an awesome job as an intern, as if you’re getting paid, and make damn sure that they would regret not having you on board. That’s the next step as I just got confirmation that I got the position for the Business Development Internship. The position is unpaid but like what I’ve said, I’m more than willing to work for free in order to prove myself worthy. You see, internships are great ways to really stand out. Since the position is unpaid, your supervisors don’t really have high expectations regarding your performance. And that’s exactly why you should work harder, smarter, and more enthusiastic than everyone else. Like Zappos, you want to under promise but over deliver. That’s the goal and I’m certainly making my way there. 

To be Continued

Part 3 of this post will be continued as soon as the internship concludes, which should be by the end of October or mid November. Right now, I’m keeping myself busy by working part-time doing other gigs that bring in some money. Apart from all the things that I’ve said, there’s only 3 things that I want you to remember at the end. 

1. Research and qualify prospective companies where you will fit in well and companies that would consider you as an asset. Look for companies that you’re really interested and passionate about.

2. Once you’ve narrowed down your list, use guerrilla marketing tactics. Use the shock and awe principle. Remember, the first impression is the most important. Don’t mess it up! Be creative and think of ways to stand out as a candidate the moment you introduce yourself. 

3. Show your passion, hunger, and ambition. Nothing is more appealing than a person who is passionate. Your passion will get you through, no doubt about it. If you’re really passionate, it will show. 

I’d love to help out in anyway possible. I’m no expert, but I’ve gotten results. If you think there’s something I can help you out with, please don’t hesitate to contact me. 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

